Started on June 18, 2024

Yoga Classes in Mysore

Yogasana is a set of physical, mental, and spiritual practices dating back to 2700 BC an outcome of the Indus Valley Civilization. Of the many poses a body can assume, 8400000 have been identified as yogasanas. This profound practice changes how one thinks, feels, and experiences life. Some asansas are executed for physical benefits such as increased flexibility and strength; others for emotional or spiritual benefits like enhanced focus, mental clarity and connection to a higher self.

If you are still contemplating about making the rightful decision, it is about time you roll out your yoga mat and discover exercises people have practiced for thousands of years. Whether you are young or old & fit or not, there are asansas that can relax the mind and strengthen the body. Yoga is for everyone!

GSS Yoga promotes physical, mental, and spiritual well-being through Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga. For the best yoga classes in Mysore – Kuvempunagar, contact GSS Yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga (Mysore Style Yoga)

‘Ashtanga Yoga’ is a system compiled by Sage Vamana Rishi in ‘Yoga Korunta’ (an ancient manuscript) which is said to contain many asanas as well as original philosophies on ‘Vinyasa’, ‘Drishti’, ‘Bandhas’ and ‘Mudras’. The teachings in ‘Yoga Korunta’ were imparted to T. Krishnamacharya in the early 1900s by his guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari and eventually passed down to Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois, a native of Mysore, Karnataka. Hence ‘Ashtanga Yoga’ is also called Mysore style yoga.

There are eight practices of Ashtanga (eight-limbed) yoga that are listed below:

  1. Yama: There are five ‘Yamas’. They are ‘Ahimsa’ (nonviolence), ‘Satya’ (truthfulness), ‘Asteya’ (non-stealing), ‘Brahmacharya’ (continence) and ‘Aparigraha’ (non-covetousness). Brahmacharya is a form of self-restraint. ‘Brahman’ means the divine and ‘Charya’ means conduct. For a married person, it means fidelity; for an unmarried person it means celibacy.
  2. Niyama: There are five ‘Niyamas’ and they are ‘Shaucha’ (cleanliness), ‘Santosha’ (contentment), ‘Tapas’ (discipline/meditation), ‘Svadhyaya’ (self-study), and ‘Isvara Pranidhana’ (surrender to God). Santosha translates as contentment – being happy with what one has. However, this does not mean complacency. Svadhyaya is self-awareness and understanding the way one reacts to different stimuli/situations in life.
  3. Asana: Out of the many postures a body can assume, 84 are identified as ‘yogasanas’ through which one can transform the body and mind and thereby focus energy in a particular direction. Yogasana relieves chronic health conditions such as hypertension and low back pain as well as decelerates the aging process.
  4. Pranayama: ‘Prana’ is breath or vital energy in the body and ‘ayama’ means control. Therefore, pranayama is control of vital energy. Every cell in our bodies needs oxygen to function properly. Research shows that regular practice of controlled breathing can decrease the effects of stress on the body and increase overall physical and mental health.
  5. Pratyahara: ‘Pratyahara’ forms a bridge between the external focus of the previous limbs of yoga and the internal focus of the subsequent limbs. Pratyahara leads the practitioner to concentration, meditation and finally the goal of ‘Samadhi’. By withdrawing from external stimuli, the mind can turn inward and deepen yogic practice.
  6. Dharana: ‘Dharana’ is translated as concentration of the mind (with retention of the breath). The prior limb Pratyahara is withdrawing the senses from external stimuli. Dharana takes this one step further to ‘ekagra chitta’ or single-pointed focus. This is the first step in deep meditation. Here, the object of focus is held in the mind without consciousness wavering from it.
  7. Dhyana: ‘Dhyana’ allows a person to calm his/her mind and look at the outside world without any distraction. This deeper concentration of the mind is where one can separate illusion from reality and eventually reach the ultimate goal of yoga; ‘Samadhi’ (bliss).
  8. Samadhi: A yogi achieves a meditative state (Samadhi) by concentrating on both the physical being and rhythm of breath. In this case, the meditative state is not a thinking or evaluating state. On the contrary, it is a state where singleness of thought is the ultimate goal.


10 am – 7 pm
Monday to Saturday

Contact Us

#1104, Udayaravi Road, Kuvempunagar, Mysore
Ph: +91 9538076642

© GSS Yoga 2024 - All Rights Reserved. Website by Rydrex.